Went to my first “Paw Pawty”

07Apr09

The animal community on twitter is a very tight knit group. There was a “paw pawty” on twitter yesterday to celebrate BrewskieButt‘s (a cat) birthday and to collect money for FURPOWER. FURPOWER collects money and gives it to a needy pet charity so they can do great work. The mascot of the FURPOWER is RomeoTheCat, a resuced Persian. It’s amazing how powerful twitter is and all the great things that can be done with it.

I learned of a really cool site that helped me really enjoy the “paw pawty.” TwitterGrid allowed me to see every tweet made to the “paw pawty” in real time. This includes people that I am not following. As long as people had in their tweets #pawpawty, it showed up there.  It was a great way to find new people (or in this case animals) who might be interesting to follow on a regular basis. I’m now following over 140 people. I’m finding that I just can’t keep up with everyone, but I try to read as many tweets as possible. I think that twitter could become its own full time job.

I think that I’m at a twitter disadvantage. Since I live in Israel, I usually spend my time tweeting before or after work. That’s OK when I’m responding directly to others, but if I want to promote new pages on The Pet Wiki, I’ll need to figure something else out. There’s a service that I’ve subscribed to call TweetLater. It should allow me to set times for my tweets to  display. We’ll see if that helps.

One Response to “Went to my first “Paw Pawty””


  1. 1 Lots of new pages! « Rena Live

Leave a Reply

